Graphics Roundup-Feb 2016

 

Random stuff I did for fun from Jan 8-Feb 8

Looking back, I moved away from illustration and fun to simple shapes and attempts to communicate something more business like. I had been perusing through logos/business oriented graphic design and had less time than I had in December/Jan. Thus, I naturally gravitated to more conventional lines and shapes. The colours also got conventional, as evidenced by the pink/blue dichotomy. The last thing I did on Photoshop this month was attempt to recreate the side of a simple logo from an outdoor company. Future ideas for intersections of illustration and shapes: logos made up of shapes (circle, triangular trees) with bears (drawn; need to learn to draw a bear!) IMG_0288

Sometimes, monotone says it better than colour. I wish I had brought my DLSR.

Snow continues to be one of the biggest motivating factors behind my interest in visual art. Nature is the best artist: from the chairlift looking down, snow laden pines display a crown of branches that look strikingly like snowflakes (I’ll try to get a picture of that next time, but my camera has been frozen each time and I haven’t brought my DLSR due to time/space constraints.) Want to see depth of field using monochrome? There is something mesmerizing about staring at a stand of trees; the longer you stare, the more hidden branches you see and the deeper your field of vision feels.

 

 

 

 

Thanks for your comment!

