Throwback: Birthday Runs

It should be a tradition-nay, mandatory-to be going on a birthday ski trip. Taking a look back at some of the birthday runs I’ve had it’s clear that birthday runs are awesome. Why? Because what can be better than a birthday but a birthday snowboarding?

I’m also the kind of person who keeps journals!

2013 journal 

March 7

My birthday!!! Had the most people say happy birthday to me in real life ever in a day I bet. 

The first stroke of good luck came when I held my ID under the window, not a doubt in my voice as I asked god to provide me with a miracle-a  free lift ticket. Sure enough, I got it. I had to write my name down though (hopefully no repercussions!) [Afraid somehow parents would find out I was skipping and especially, that I was snowboarding; I also didn’t have the money to buy a ticket myself if it weren’t for free]. Also it was the one thing that day that I dared to hope for! And guess what-it followed out. If you don’t doubt, it will follow out. Don’t doubt.

Oh-and that wasn’t the only stroke of good luck. My high school mates were on the same bus. Back of busses. High school ski trips. Always has been and always will be. These things never change. They never change because there is something fundamentally core in each our our beings and memories-they’re just an extension of us.  [High school is where I had a few lessons snowboarding. They were definitely a highlight of highschool.]

Beautiful views of Cypress-still didn’t stir me but should’ve. [I’m pretty darn scared about being caught by parents and not able to enjoy the scene] Snowy tree lined roads. Not cold enough, long enough, no one to share with. Surprised to maybe see [acquaintance] when I got on the bus–said hi to me when we were leaving, so he recognized me maybe too. Yay. It snowed on the mountain, too. Bountiful, substantial flakes. White gold. 

Accidentally got myself down a slope around the lift poles. Real awkward. Too scared to actually turn.

Had trouble turning but tried plenty to jump, which was impossible last time. Weird! can never be proficient at both. Must approach, cutting speed but not too erratically, and not think too hard, and just do, straight, in the final stretch. Then ride it as if it’s flat. Then enjoy the rush after. [WTF? I clearly could not snowboard]

One bump in the beginning of panorama so took that up to eight times. [Could I actually hold my snowboard forward, even by accident? Wow.] Also a section of two mini bumps on that run too. Took that as well. Un run was the true kicker. It was ALL bumps. I saved that for last, seeing that its first initial bump was already out of comfort zone. [Since Unrun has not even open this year, I can’t tell you how well I’d do on it now. But it’s one scary run every time I’ve been on it, a double track wide roller coaster for your board] But I couldn’t just not go. Going it and doing it would certainly make my day perfect. First run-dead. Can’t remember if I went three or two times-three I think? Anyways after first I was disgusted and so tired. I had to pull myself up so many flats. [It was was basically a pump track for a skis, but ridden on a snowboard, so I the flatter sections I would have to unstrap. The bumps were actually easier because instinct told me when to crouch and when not to. I didn’t know how to turn on the narrow track and luckily I didn’t need to that much because speed usually took me into the turns before I could be scared.] It was certainly made for skiiers; luckily it was so deserted, or else so many people would’ve been pissed at me plus I would’ve been even more embarrassed than I was. I mean, it was too hard. I think. I certainly ditched. It was either a) ditch and fall for sure or b) stick to it, get air, and maybe not fall but suffer extreme fear and maybe fall even harder. [This shows I can’t snowboard. I don’t know how to fall. I fear falling, because I don’t know how to land gently.] I kept backing out on the latter runs. I learned fear. The first time I just went with it and sort of trusted the trail more to keep me safe. It did. I actually fell more the other times, and harder , because I backed out last min. But looking back the third time left me stronger not weaker. I ENJOYED the turns. I still can’t remember the run-shame, because that would give me more confidence (although there are NO speed cutters in the trail, so to suffer one entire long fast roller coaster ride with lots of air when I’m only a beginner? NO!?! But it was such an adventure. For once I didn’t feel so alone or tired. I was adventuring. Sure I should’ve loved going down the other blue runs, but they were harder than last time-again I seemed to have given up natural turning for air this trip. I wish I had both! [Seriously, I sound like an idiot, how come I can’t hold my board straight AND turn? Clearly I arrived at either by accident and the two opposing motions had not yet been combined in my mind. I go on to learn to turn next season for far too many hours.]

It’s actually impossible not to get air on a snowboard. It goes off every single bump!!

Next year’s goals: job so I can buy a once a night ski pass/bus pass/wax. Stay friends with [new university friends]. Stay friends with old friends. 

2014

March 9

It was a year of unremarkable snow and also, apparently, writing. The entry just says,

I WENT ON THE BOX [in the terrain park] ON MY LAST RUN I’M NOT A TOTAL LOSER!!!!!! :DDDDDDDDD

Conclusion: Crap snow since it didn’t even warrant a description. No points awarded for fear of flat surfaces.

March 7, 2015?

Prediction: It’s turning into the year of surprises that trumps all other years of surprises.

The local mountains are closed, although snow making opportunities are present.

When the harder runs aren’t open, the personal growth that happens comes with conquering them has to come elsewhere. While it’s hard-impossible-to match the amount of speed, vertical, and uneven terrain snowboarding gives you, even at a beginner level, you need to harness that positive energy and move it elsewhere. Where? We’ll find out on March 7.

Thanks for your comment!

